Is your mind on track?

Four Words to Help You Keep Your Day on Track

The quick and easy way to overcome procrastination and distractions

Ellen Goodwin
3 min readMar 17, 2023

--

While on the way to a new coffee shop a couple of weeks ago, I passed by a Buddhist temple. On their bulletin board was a flyer for an upcoming lecture entitled “Where is your mind?”

I’m reasonably sure the talk will focus on the Buddhist concept of mindfulness and the idea of “non-judgmental awareness of what we are experiencing in the moment.” But it wasn’t so much the event itself that caught my attention, but rather the title.

Where is your mind?

Those four words stuck with me and tickled my brain as I sat at the coffee shop.

“Where is my mind?” I wondered as I absentmindedly picked up my phone to check messages.

“Where is my mind?” I asked this as I finished editing a paragraph and felt the pull of another distracting thought.

Where was my mind?

Was it on the tea and muffin I had in front of me?

Was it on my writing?

Was it on the humor piece I was tinkering with?

Was it firmly in the moment as I worked to construct a framework for a new program I’m putting together?

--

--

Ellen Goodwin

Productivity Consultant, TEDx Speaker, Podcast Co-host, Author of DONE: How To Work When No One Is Watching. Learn more at Ellen@EllenGoodwin.com